Catholic

Sabbath Moments: Defying Reality


  • White_lipped_tree_frog_cairns_jan_8_2006 (1)

Think about the last time you broke a rule (a big one,not just ripping the tags off your pillows). Were you burned, or did things turn out for the best?

Like every other human being, I broke the most fundamental law in the universe without any conscious effort. I refused to accept reality. Instead I donned masks and false personalities in a vain attempt to deny my very nature. I acted like  a  queen at the centre my little world.

According to Thomas Merton (Seeds of Contemplation), a frog or tree are holy simply because they are who they were created to be. On the other hand, I broke all laws of nature out of pride.  Steeped in delusion,  I clung to a false persona and refused to relax and accept the reality that I am not the  centre of the universe.

The result? I was not simply burned. Oh no, I created an utterly miserable,  guilt filled prison sentence spent suffering like a  pitiful victim. Yep living like the world revolved around me was not fun.

This illegal activity is best illustrated by watching young tyrants. There are countless examples of a two-year old, refusing any help, only to get  into all sorts of trouble. I can laugh indulgently at my kids amusing escapades but guess what? God also laughs  lovingly at me, waiting for me to exhaust my arrogance and embrace reality.

from a good friend and author, Isabel Anders,

“Patience with others is Love, Patience with self is Hope, Patience with God is Faith.”
—Adel Bestavros.

10 thoughts on “Sabbath Moments: Defying Reality

  1. Pingback: Daily Prompt: Breaking the Rules | My Blog

Leave a Reply

