A New Catholic Writing Award


cropped-cropped-kids-dos_nic3b1as-by_pere_borrell_del_caso1

cropped-cropped-kids-dos_nic3b1as-by_pere_borrell_del_caso1The joy of living as a child of God

Matthew 18:2-4

He called a little child to him, and placed the child among them. And he said: “Truly I tell you, unless you change and become like little children, you will never enter the kingdom of heaven. Therefore, whoever takes the lowly position of this child is the greatest in the kingdom of heaven.

THIS AWARD HAS NO STRINGS ATTACHED

NO RULES,

NO OBLIGATIONS

A SIMPLE ACKNOWLEDGEMENT OF GREAT CATHOLIC WRITING WHICH BRINGS JOY, TRUTH, FREEDOM OR  ENCOURAGEMENT TO OTHERS

IT CAN BE SOMEONE WHO WRITES ABOUT

PRAYER

THEIR STRUGGLES AND PAIN. BRINGING HOPE TO OTHERS

LIFE IN GOD

FAITH STORIES THAT MAKE YOU LAUGH

PASS THIS AWARD ON TO A FELLOW CATHOLIC WRITER OR TWO

POST THE RECIPIENT’S NAME AND BLOG IF APPLICABLE, AWARD TITLE, LOGO WITH A SIMPLE LINK BACK TO

https://melaniejeanjuneau.wordpress.com/

Put it in your own sidebar!

( PAINTING BY Pere Borrell del Caso, Escaping Criticism, 1874)

I guess I had better ‘ bite the bullet‘ and start ‘the ball rolling‘ by nominating a couple of writers. I am choosing radically different writers to start.

  • Nancy Shuman —The Breadbox Letters and at The Cloistered Heart
    . Nancy  consistently posts poignant quotes and articles which inspire, uplift and challenge us to live a life deeply in the presence of God paired with gorgeous art. I love all of her stuff; she is a kindred soul.
  • David Torkington- David Torkington 
  •  David Torkington writes with heart and speaks right to my deepest longings for God. He is a journalist, author and speaker, who specializes in Prayer, Christian Spirituality and Mystical Theology. His personal spirituality is predominantly Franciscan, his Mystical Theology          Carmelite, all welded together with a solid blend of Benedictine moderation.
  • Victor S E MoubarakTime for Reflections

  • Victor is funny, self deprecating, master story-teller who buries pearls of wisdom in captivating fiction. He is a published author who offers many ebooks for free.

  •    Carolyn Hughes writes at The Hurt Healer
  • Not sure if she is Catholic but she is a lover of Jesus,  Inspiration for anyone who wants to live their life as the person they were meant to be. I quote Carolyn herself , By reclaiming my life I have found  the freedom to live life in sobriety and to recover from chronic depression.Today it is faith, forgiveness, serenity and joy that make up ‘The Hurt Healer’..

 

23 thoughts on “A New Catholic Writing Award

  1. Nancy May 17, 2014 at 6:36 pm Edit
    I can never figure out how to comment here (that being because I’m nearing 150 years old, give or take a few decades). I hope you see this, because I HAVE to tell you that I was at vigil Mass tonight when I had a “distraction.” It popped into my mind that it would be so nice if there were a nice, simple Catholic blog appreciation award, a no strings attached kind of thing. And then I came home and ta-daa! It has been done!! The timing takes my breath away! And what you have done is BEAUTIFUL! So we could just…. award it to someone if we want? ….Wonder if I could figure out how to do THAT. 🙂 (I am quite computer challenged, especially in WordPress.. I am in awe of people who can navigate it!!)

    Like

    1. NANCY, I HOPE YOU get this
      TOO FUNNY… I wanted to ask you what you thought of my image and explanation but then just went ahead,
      yes please give the award freely to anyone you want. You could make a post saying I gave the award to you and then list who you want to pass it on to

      Like

      1. Nancy ShumanMay 17, 2014 at 6:56 PM
        Thank you, Melanie!! I am in awe, especially since I thought of this very thing during Mass, probably around the time you were posting about it. Maybe it wasn’t a ‘during Mass distraction’ at all .. but a wee confirmation of your inspiration?

        Kindred hearts. Yes. I’d say so 🙂

        Like

  2. Thank you Melanie for this unexpected award which I am honoured to receive however undeservedly. I think you forgot to nominate yourself for this Award. The hard work you do in this Blog and the Association of Catholic Women’s Blog; as well as all the other websites you contribute to makes you a worthy nominee and winner. Thank you Melanie for your kindness, support and encouragement. God bless you.

    Like

  3. I second Victor’s sentiments, Melanie. I hereby (along with Victor, I know), present this award to YOU. You definitely deserve it by a lot.

    Like

  4. Question,hope there’s room for a runner’s up.I’ve followed Fr Z for quite some time (including his twitter account)-so my nomination goes to:
    Father John Zuldsdhorf WDTPRS there are many good Catholic blogs out there including Joy so it’s a tough call but i have to nominate Father Z’s http://wdtprs.com/blog/
    Wish we could vote for at least 3. 😦

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.