Celebrating Great Catholic Writers


Just as I was designing a new award for Catholic writers,  at the exact same time Nancy Shuman was in church . She describes the moment:

“Pinch me.I have just received a newly minted Catholic Writer’s Award, fresh out of the box, from none other than Melanie Jean Juneau.  And to make the whole thing even more interesting, Melanie was writing about this while I (not having a clue that any such thing was being done) sat at Mass with what I considered a ‘distraction’ suddenly popping into my head.  Wouldn’t it be nice, thought I, if there were a simple, attractive, no-strings-attached-Catholic-bloggers’ award, one acknowledging really good faith-blogging.   I came home, turned on the computer, and found It Had Just Been Done.  Then, even as I was reeling from the timing of that, I discovered that I was actually one of the first recipients.   Pinch me.   The award itself is beautiful (isn’t it beautiful?!!!!?!), and I love what Melanie wrote about it.  Which can be found here: https://melaniejeanjuneau.wordpress.com/2014/05/17/a-new-catholic-writing-award/ ) ‘
What a wonderful job you have done, Melanie.  May this beautiful award spread far and wide”

cropped-cropped-kids-dos_nic3b1as-by_pere_borrell_del_caso1


The joy of living as a child of God

Matthew 18:2-4

He called a little child to him, and placed the child among them. And he said: “Truly I tell you, unless you change and become like little children, you will never enter the kingdom of heaven. Therefore, whoever takes the lowly position of this child is the greatest in the kingdom of heaven.

THIS AWARD HAS NO STRINGS ATTACHED

NO RULES,

NO OBLIGATIONS

A SIMPLE ACKNOWLEDGEMENT OF GREAT CATHOLIC WRITING WHICH BRINGS JOY, TRUTH, FREEDOM OR  ENCOURAGEMENT TO OTHERS

IT CAN BE SOMEONE WHO WRITES ABOUT

PRAYER

THEIR STRUGGLES AND PAIN. BRINGING HOPE TO OTHERS

LIFE IN GOD

FAITH STORIES THAT MAKE YOU LAUGH

PASS THIS AWARD ON TO A FELLOW CATHOLIC WRITER OR TWO

POST THE RECIPIENT’S NAME AND BLOG IF APPLICABLE, AWARD TITLE, LOGO WITH A SIMPLE LINK BACK TO

https://melaniejeanjuneau.wordpress.com/

Put it in your own sidebar!

( PAINTING BY Pere Borrell del Caso, Escaping Criticism, 1874)

more recipients I can only drop a few pebbles into the ocean of wonderful Catholic Writers, trusting that encouragement will spread through others

Michael Seagriff at Harvesting the Fruits of Contemplation

Connie Rossini at Catholic Spirituality Blogs Network and Contemplative Homeschool

Cristina T at Filling My Prayer Closet

Nancy  Ward at Joy Alive in Our Hearts

 

5 thoughts on “Celebrating Great Catholic Writers

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.